Big Events & Facebook Can Help You Grow Your Company

6 Feb

This weekend during the Super Bowl I set out to prove a point that I made nearly 10 years ago and still believe today… Super Bowl Sunday is in the top 5 best recruiting days of the year.

The sheer number of people online (tweeting, browsing and updating Facebook, searching the web) at once makes Super Bowl Sunday a prime time to connect.  Combine that with the inspirational atmosphere of the whole event, and you can start to see why this can be one of the best days (or even best stretch of 4 hours) to pitch a dream job to a huge, highly engaged pool of candidates.  (Now I admit, finding a recruiter willing to work on Super Bowl Sunday is another issue – but maybe we’ll revisit that in another post)

At GlobalOne, we have an Employee Referral Program, Growing Global, for GlobalOne employees to refer a connection as a candidate for an open position.  With this program, we’re able to gather an amazing collection of resumes to help hire some of the most talented folks in the industry for a variety of open positions.

But, I recently noticed that there were 2 positions open that had no referrals.  And so, wanting to test out my theory, I posted an update on Facebook on Sunday, asking my friends if they could refer someone they knew for either of the positions.  1 post and 6 hours later and I have 12 resumes for the 2 positions that had no referrals and another 10 email addresses and phone numbers for other people who my network tells me I must call, ASAP. This was incredible. Something that typically takes weeks or months, I was able to gather in a matter of hours.

This is simply a better way of working – integrating social into every aspect of my function and our business. Now it’s off to the think tank with our Social Business brain trust at GlobalOne (Cyndi Zaino and Geoff Merrick) to put the finishing touches on a pretty spectacular Social recruiting plan.

Give them a shout if you want them to do the same for you!

One Response to “Big Events & Facebook Can Help You Grow Your Company”

  1. Cyndi Zaino February 6, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Mashable just posted an article – with an Infographic – on how to recruit with Facebook. Very timely!

    http://mashable.com/2012/02/05/facebook-recruiting-infographic/

Leave a comment